If you love books, you’ll love these stage adaptations…

Leeds Playhouse is bringing three inspiring stage adaptations to Yorkshire this Spring.

The Lost Happy Endings, running from 27th – 28th March, is based on the original children’s story by Dame Carol Ann Duffy. The show is about a magical girl called Jub who lives deep in the forest, guarding the happy endings to fairytales. But when a wicked witch steals them, can Jub save the day? The piece is being retold as dance theatre for the whole family by balletLORENT with narration by national treasure Joanna Lumley.

Carol Ann Duffy says: “Both as a poet and as a parent, I’ve always loved revisiting and retelling our traditional myths and fairytales. As we developed the story, we found we weren’t only dealing with The Lost Happy Endings, but also the alternative middles.

Next up, from 31st March – 4th April is The Kite Runner. Khaled Hosseini’s internationally renowned novel has been adapted for the stage by Matthew Spangler. It’s a fantastic novel and the adaptation definitely does it justice. The show, based in Afghanistan as it stands on the verge of war, follows one man’s journey to confront his past and find redemption.

The final stage adaptation is Holes, running from 7th – 11th April. The award-winning novel by Louis Sachar is a thrilling off-beat comedy adventure telling the story of a boy cursed with bad luck. When he finds himself accused of a crime he didn’t commit, he is sent to a labour camp as punishment and tasked with digging a five-foot wide by five-foot deep hole every day. How will Stanley and his fellow inmates deal with the camp, and will Stanley and his new friends unearth what’s really going on?

Visit the Leeds Playhouse website for more information and to book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s